india holidays in greece embassy
Home | Indian Embassy | Tour Packages | India Holidays |Tour Operator | Luxury Holidays | Contact

Indian Embassy in Athens, Greece

Indian Embassy in Athens, Greece is an output of Indo-Greek Political Relations which dated back to ancient times, starting even before Alexander the Great's arrival in 327 B.C in India. Diplomatic relations between India and Greece were established in May 1950 characterized by the personal friendship developed between Jawaharlal Nehru and the Greek leadership of those times. In the eighties, this relationship between Indian Embassy in Greece and Greece Embassy in India was further strengthened through the close cooperation established between Prime Ministers - Indira Gandhi, Andreas Papandreou and later on Rajiv Gandhi, within the framework of the "Initiative of the Six”. The new Chancery and Residence of the Embassy of Greece in New Delhi was inaugurated in 2001. Greece and India have signed various bilateral agreements such as an Agreement on Culture and Education, an Agreement on Tourism Cooperation etc. The Greek influence on Indian Art appeared in the minting of coins, the Graeco-Buddhist sculptures of Gandhara and Mathura and the introduction of the Zodiac symbols to Indian astrology.

Address
Embassy of India
3 Kleanthous Street,
10674 Athens (Greece)
Tel. 0030-210 721 6227, 6481
Fax. 210 721 1252
Email: indembassy@ath.forthnet.gr

Timings
Opening hours 09.30 am - 12.30 pm.

List of Holidays 2007
Holiday
Date
Day
Id' ul Zuha January 01 Monday
Republic Day January 26 Friday
Muharram January 30 Tuesday
Maha Shivaratri February 16 Friday
Navroz March 21 Wednesday
Mahavir Jayanti March 31 Saturday
Milad-un-Nabi (Birthday of Prophet Mohammed) April 01 Sunday
Good Friday April 06 Friday
Buddha Purnima May 02 Wednesday
Independence Day August 15 Wednesday
Janmashtami September 04 Tuesday
Mahatma Gandhi's Birthday October 02 Tuesday
Id' ul Fitr October 14 Sunday
Dussehra October 21 Sunday
Diwali (Deepavali) November 09 Friday
Guru Nanak's Birthday November 24 Saturday
Idu'l Zuha (Bakrid) December 21 Friday
Christmas day December 25 Tuesday
 
Embassy of greece athens holidays tours India
  world embassies holiday tours packages
wildlife travel vacation holidays
Tirumala Tirupati kerala holidays